• THE AVP NEWS
  • Posts
  • The AVP News - Issue #003 - My First Thoughts, Immersive 3D Concerts, Office Apps, and What The Golf?

The AVP News - Issue #003 - My First Thoughts, Immersive 3D Concerts, Office Apps, and What The Golf?

Issue 003 - AVPN -

Issue #003

It’s Here!

I was lucky enough to get in early on the pre-order, so my Vision Pro arrived on Friday, February 2nd. However, I didn’t get an opportunity to experience it until later in the evening. The following are some of my initial thoughts, after using it for several hours so far.

Initial Thoughts

After opening the box, and picking it up for the very first time, I did feel a but shocked on the weight, it did feel a bit heavy. My first thought was, “how is this going to stay in place on my face?” With this being said, It did seem smaller than I imagined, mostly likely because of my experience with other systems. I have graduated to the dual loop band for almost all usage. It just distributes the weight better.

I marveled at the hardware, the craftsmanship and the thought of ALL THE TECHNOLOGY in such a sleek and beautiful peice of hardware.

You’ve heard it before, much of the experiences within the Vision Pro are hard to explain to those that have not actually tried one themselves.

Laying out an infinite canvas with Mail, Messages, and Safari within my spatial workspace was crazy! And I’m imagining how best to be most productive while using visionOS. I then connected my MacBook Pro virtual display and it felt like I had this massive command center in front of me. I could position four massive browser windows tiled side-by-side and was ready for world domination. but then also look to the right and see the native visionOS messages app, and to the left I could see my calendar app.

Apps

This is where I discovered that we need many more apps to be truly developed for migrated over to visionOS. For example the Calendar App falls into the folder call “Compatible Apps” it’s just the iPad app running on visionOS. It works fine and all, but for example it doesn’t respect the Dark Mode setting on visionOS. So you are working away within several apps, and BOOM a giant bright white App IN YO FACE! I know a small gripe, and I know it will be updated in the future. But this also happened with other apps available from the App Store.

Using FaceTime works well, and is fun while using Vision Pro. I tried to get others to see what my Persona looked like, and while they could tell it was me, my friends and family said my eyes were weird, and when I looked at some screenshots of myself as a Persona, I looked like I had just taken a couple Xanax and was totally chill.

The one big thing about FaceTime is that it works so well, and. you are immersed in what you are doing, you forget, that they aren’t seeing YOU. That isn’t your face, those aren’t your hands. Let me explain. My very first FaceTime in Vision Pro was with my daughter, and after we discussed how my persona looked like an Angel, with glowing lights and halos I was showing her the straps it came with. Ahhhh Duh… she can’t see things I’m holding in my hands lol. That will take some getting used to lol.

Be Careful Moving Around

So I learned early on, while wearing Vision Pro, the dangers of moving around your physical environment. One of the first things it asks you when setting up and signing into iCloud was setup Pay. I had selected a couple credit cards, and it wanted the code to verify my business credit card. I need to run down to the office to get this. I shoved the battery in my pocket and ran downstairs. So far so good. On my way back upstairs, the cable connecting the battery to the Vision Pro got snagged on the door knob and jolted me back, and I’m lucky I had the Dual Loop band on. I’m pretty sure if I had just the Solo Knit band on, my Vision Pro just hours old would’ve smashed to the ground.

Movies In 3D

Finally it’s here. A way to watch 3D movies that feels, and looks good. I wanted to try a 3D movie, and after downloading and signing into Disney+ and looked at the titles that had available. They had The Guardians of the Galaxy trilogy. I hadn’t yet seen Volume 3, so I started to from the beginning to watch all of these. It was awesome. Setting a background environment, and increasing the movie screen to an enormous size, then just getting lost within the story was jaw dropping. Even though these movies were converted, and not filmed in 3D it was still a great experience. Seeing the depth in scenes and having some scene elements “feel” as if they were floating in front of you was just awesome!

This is Gonna Be Awesome!

This is version 1.0.2! We are just beginning. This is gonna keep getting better. Just wait until more developers begin to create apps and experiences unique to visionOS! More filmmakers and story tellers will begin to capture in spatial video, and share their art for us to experience in 3D! Industries, and Employees will begin to adopt spatial workflows to build more productive and efficient ways to work! This is gonna be awesome!

Work and Productivity
News and Headlines
Gaming
Fun and Entertainment

We appreciate you sharing and telling others about this newsletter! Please forward this email to your friends, family, colleagues, and neighbors! 🙂